All Bethesda workshops are now on site at The Writer's Center, 4508 Walsh St.

During the final phase of our renovation, please enter through the door in the lane on the right-hand side of the building. Our staff will help you find your workshop once you arrive.

 


Upcoming Events

(Sold Out) Getting Started: Creative Writing Intensive
Sat, 22 Sep 2018
12:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Elements of Fiction: Dialogue
Sat, 22 Sep 2018
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

Conflict & Tension
Sat, 22 Sep 2018
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

Moment by Moment: Micro Memoir
Sat, 22 Sep 2018
1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Write Tight!
Sat, 22 Sep 2018
2:00 PM - 4:30 PM

(Online) Writing Creative Nonfiction
Mon, 24 Sep 2018
All Day Event

Inciting Events
Wed, 26 Sep 2018
10:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Writing Picture Books
Thu, 27 Sep 2018
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM

The Writer’s Center Contest Winners Reading
Fri, 28 Sep 2018
7:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Strong Beginnings
Sat, 29 Sep 2018
9:30 AM - 12:30 PM

NaNoWriMo Prep
Sat, 29 Sep 2018
10:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Applying Craft in the Art of Playwriting
Sat, 29 Sep 2018
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

(Glen Echo) Writing For TV & Film
Sat, 29 Sep 2018
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Found Poetry
Mon, 01 Oct 2018
All Day Event

Mastering the Personal Essay
Mon, 01 Oct 2018
6:00 PM - 10:00 PM

How to Write a Business Book
Mon, 01 Oct 2018
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Writing as a Path to Healing
Tue, 02 Oct 2018
6:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Taming the Beast - How to Organize Your Novel
Tue, 02 Oct 2018
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Read, Write & Workshop
Thu, 04 Oct 2018
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM

How to Pitch Personal Essays to Magazines and Literary Journals
Thu, 04 Oct 2018
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM

Creating Novel Characters
Fri, 05 Oct 2018
All Day Event

Humor Writing
Mon, 08 Oct 2018
All Day Event

(Online) Meditative Journaling
Mon, 08 Oct 2018
All Day Event

Reading and Writing Women's Lives
Tue, 09 Oct 2018
1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Beginning Fantasy Fiction
Tue, 09 Oct 2018
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

How to Write a Novel
Wed, 10 Oct 2018
10:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Boot Camp for Writers
Wed, 10 Oct 2018
10:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Heidi Sopinka reading at East City Bookshop
Thu, 11 Oct 2018
6:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Revision: Finding Method in Madness
Thu, 11 Oct 2018
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Speaking About Your Book!
Sat, 13 Oct 2018
9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

From Novice to Novelist
Sat, 13 Oct 2018
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Advanced Personal Essay
Sat, 13 Oct 2018
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

The Personal Poem
Sat, 13 Oct 2018
10:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Writing the College Essay
Sat, 13 Oct 2018
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

The Principle of Yearning in Narrative
Mon, 15 Oct 2018
All Day Event

F. Scott Fitzgerald Festival Honors Richard Russo
Fri, 19 Oct 2018
7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Creating Complex Characters
Sat, 20 Oct 2018
9:00 AM - 12:30 PM

Scene Building
Sat, 20 Oct 2018
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

Revisiting Rhyme
Sat, 20 Oct 2018
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM


TWC CONTEST WINNERS LIVE!

 

Coney Island Book of the Dead by Sheila Martin

Fri, Sept 28, 7:30pm

Three award-winning members of The Writer's Center family share their work! Join us in welcoming Sheila Martin, winner of our First Novel Prize, as well as our Undiscovered Voices Fellow, Julia Tagliere, and TWC instructor Tara Campbell.

Learn more »

Save

Save

Save

Save

POET'S

CORNER

 

Poet Lore

The brand new issue of Poet Lore has arrived!

Subscribe today »

Save

Save

NEW WORKSHOPS!

 

Writing Workshops @ The Writer's Center

With 300 workshops a year, there's always something new to learn at The Writer's Center! Check out our workshop schedule to see what's starting soon.

Sign up today »

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save