THE WRITER'S CENTER IS TEMPORARILY RELOCATING DURING OUR RENOVATIONS IN SUMMER 2018

INFORMATION ON THE NEW VENUE FOR BETHESDA WORKSHOPS

 


Upcoming Events

The Engine of Syntax
Sat, 23 Jun 2018
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Creating Your Book for Children
Mon, 25 Jun 2018
7:00 PM - 9:30 PM

The Writer's Toolbox
Wed, 27 Jun 2018
1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Create a Story in an Hour!
Wed, 27 Jun 2018
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

(Online) Summer Writing Camp for Teens
Fri, 29 Jun 2018
All Day Event

(Online) Intro to the Novel
Fri, 29 Jun 2018
All Day Event

Writing Characters You Love to Hate
Sat, 30 Jun 2018
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

How to Write a Lot
Sat, 30 Jun 2018
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

(Online) Find & Replace: Edit Like a Pro
Mon, 02 Jul 2018
All Day Event

(Online) Flash Fiction II
Mon, 09 Jul 2018
All Day Event

Writing Memoir: Getting Started
Mon, 09 Jul 2018
10:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Short Story for Teens
Mon, 09 Jul 2018
10:30 AM - 2:30 PM

Writing a Nonfiction Book Proposal
Mon, 09 Jul 2018
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Inciting Events
Tue, 10 Jul 2018
10:30 AM - 1:00 PM

Writing as a Path to Healing
Tue, 10 Jul 2018
6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

How to Tell a Story in a Poem
Tue, 10 Jul 2018
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

The Poem Comes Alive
Wed, 11 Jul 2018
7:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Villanelle Crash Course
Sat, 14 Jul 2018
10:00 AM - 1:00 PM

Conflict & Tension
Sat, 14 Jul 2018
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

How to Write Grant Proposals
Sat, 14 Jul 2018
1:30 PM - 4:00 PM

Landing a Literary Agent
Mon, 16 Jul 2018
7:00 PM - 9:15 PM

Beginning Fantasy Fiction
Thu, 19 Jul 2018
7:30 PM - 9:30 PM

Getting Started: Creative Writing
Sat, 21 Jul 2018
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM


FIRST NOVEL PRIZE WINNER!

 

The Writer's Guide

Congratulations to Sheila Martin, winner of the McLaughlin-Esstman-Stearns First Novel Prize! Learn more about Sheila and her novel, The Coney Island Book of the Dead, in the new issue of The Writer's Guide.

Read online »

Save

Save

Save

Save

POET'S

CORNER

 

Poet Lore

The brand new issue of Poet Lore has arrived!

Subscribe today »

Save

Save

TEEN SUMMER WORKSHOPS!

 

Teen Writing Workshops at The Writer's Center

Taught by renowned published authors and hosted by the area’s oldest literary arts nonprofit, our affordable workshops give teen writers the tools they need to take their writing to the next level.

Limited space, so register today »

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save